The Princess Grace Foundation USA

Date: 07 Dec 2007


The Princess Grace Foundation USA, a public charity formed after the death of Princess Grace in 1982, awards scholarships, apprenticeships and fellowships to assist emerging theater, dance and film artists. Some past Award winners include Stephen Hillenburg, creator of Nickelodeon’s SpongeBob SquarePants∆í¬ß‚Äö_ Tony Kushner, Pulitzer Prizewinning playwright∆í¬ß‚Äö_ Gillian Murphy, principal dancer of American Ballet Theatre∆í¬ß‚Äö_ and Eric Simonson, Academy Award winner.


The first Princess Grace Awards winners were announced in 1984. To date, PGFUSA has awarded more than $5 million to support and continue excellence in the arts. The recipients are selected by a panel of experts in their respective fields – theater, dance, and film – and the prizes awarded are in the form of scholarships, apprenticeships and fellowships. In 2007, the Princess Grace Awards were bestowed upon 22 artists (see listing below) and gave away more than $600,000.

Honorary Chairs for the 25th Anniversary Princess Grace Awards Gala were Celeste Holm, Nancy Reagan, Mrs. Frank Sinatra (Barbara) and Lynn Wyatt. The Gala Chair is Anne Hearst and the Gala CoChairs are Hon. Maguy Maccario Doyle, Consulate General of Monaco and Pamela Fiori, Town&Country.

The 2007 Princess Grace Award winners are:


Oana BotezBan, Bucharest, Romania
Pierre Cardin Theater Award
Costume Design Fellowship, Classic Stage Company
Gisela Cardenas, Lima, Peru
Robert & Gloria Hausman Theater Award
Directing Fellowship, INTAR
Toccarra Cash, Dayton, OH
Acting Scholarship, University of Missouri Kansas City
Laurie O’Brien, San Francisco, CA
Fabergé Theater Award
Puppetry Arts Scholarship, CalArts
Alex Torra, Miami, FL
Grace Le Vine Theater Award
Directing Apprenticeship, Pig Iron Theater
Scott Turner Schofield, Atlanta, GA
Gant Gaither Theater Award
Acting Fellowship, 7 Stages
Kara Manning, Philadelphia, PA
Playwriting Fellowship, New Dramatists


Andrew Bartee , Everett, WA
Dance Scholarship, Pacific Northwest Ballet School
Eric Ray Kupers, Los Angeles, CA
Choreography Fellowship, AXIS Dance Company
Brooklyn Mack, Elgin, SC
Dance Fellowship, Orlando Ballet
Sarah Kathryn Lane, Bloomfield, NY
Dance Fellowship, American Ballet Theatre
Rashaun L. Mitchell, Stamford, CT
Dance Fellowship, Merce Cunningham Dance Company
Darrell Grand Moultrie, Harlem, New York
Choreography Fellowship, Cincinnati Balletƒ§‚_ Cincinnati, OH
Christopher Vo, Dallas, TX
Dance Scholarship, The Juilliard School
Meredith Webster, Manitowoc, WI
Chris Hellman Dance Award
Dance Fellowship, LINES Ballet
Pavel Zuštiak, Kosice, Slovakia
Choreography Fellowship, Laboratory Dance Company


Maru BuendiaSenties, Mexico
Cary Grant Film Award
Graduate Film Scholarship, University of TexasAustin
Thomas Javier Castillo, Tucson, AZ
John H. Johnson Film Award
Graduate Film Scholarship, Northwestern University
Gonzalo Escobar, Bogota, Colombia
Undergraduate Film Scholarship, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Robert M. Jones, Boston, MA
Graduate Film Scholarship, American Film Institute
Elyse T. Montague, Rockland, ME
Graduate Film Scholarship, UCSD
Max Winston, Sonoma, CA
Undergraduate Film Scholarship, CalArts


Robert Battle, Artistic Director, Battleworks Dance Company
Michael John Garcés, Artistic Director, Cornerstone Theater Company

back to news